Wesley Historical Society (Yorkshire) Collection WHS

Dated 1624-2016

Extent: c100 linear metres

This major collection comprises more than 25,000 printed items and some manuscripts related to Yorkshire Methodism that supplements official records deposited in the various Yorkshire local authority archives. It has a considerable number of chapel histories (but no registers) and supporting biographies/autobiographies.

There are also general Methodist histories, Conference minutes, the Methodist Recorder newspaper and other journals and magazines.

The collection is maintained by the Wesley Historical Society Yorkshire. Further information about the Society may be obtained from http://www.wesleyhistoricalsociety.org.uk/societies.html
Admin History
The orginal collection was strengthed by acquiring part of the libraries/collections on the death of the following five members: Rev. Dr. Oliver Beckerlegge, Mr. Alan Cass, Miss Joanna Dawson, Mr. Kenneth Turton and Mr. J.C. Watson. Other donations have come from: Rev. Sydney Dixon, Rev. William Leary and Mr. Morris Morgan.

Key Dates in Methodism in United Kingdom (taken from www.methodistheritage.org.uk/history-familytree.htm)
1791 Death of John Wesley, Wesley Methodist Connexion continued to 1932
1797 Methodist New Connexion
1806- Onwards, Independent Methodists (this still exists as a separate organisation) in 1898 became Independent Methodist Connexion of Churches.
1811 - 1932 Primitive Methodists
1815 - 1907 Bible Christians
1827 - 1836 Protestant Methodists united with Wesleyan Methodist Association in 1836
1832-1837 Armenian Methodists united with Wesleyan Methodist Association 1837
1836-1857 Wesleyan Methodist Association
1837 Armenian Methodists united with Wesleyan Methodist Association.
1849-1859 Wesleyan Reformers continued to1859 renamed Wesleyan Reform Union. Ongoing.
1857 Wesleyan Reformers and Wesleyan Methodist Association united however the United Methodist Free churches continued until 1907.
1859 Wesleyan Reformers changed name to Wesleyan Reform Union.
1898 Independent Methodist Connexion of Churches, formerly Independent Methodists.
1907 Methodist New Connexion, Bible Christians and United Methodist Free Churches combined to form United Methodist Church.
1932 Primitive Methodist Connexion, Wesleyan Methodist Connexion and United Methodist Church combined to form The Methodist Church in Great Britain.

Three main branches of the Methodist Church today are Wesleyan Reform Union, Independent Methodist Connexion of Churches and The Methodist Church in Great Britain.

Branches of the church
Countess of Huntingdon’s Connexion (1783 – today)
Wesleyan Methodist Church (1791-1932) became Methodist Church of Great Britain
Methodist New Connexion (1797-1907) became United Methodist Church
Primitive Methodist Church (1810 – 1932) became Methodist Church of Great Britain
Calvanistic Methodist Church (1811-1928) became Presbyterian Church of Wales from 1928
Bible Christian Church (1815-1907) became United Methodist Church
Protestant Methodists (1827-1836) became Wesleyan Association
Wesleyan Association (1836-1857) became United Methodist Church
Methodist Reform Church (1849-1857) became United Methodist Free Churches
Wesleyan Reformers (1849-1857) became United Methodist Free Churches
United Methodist Free Churches (1857-1907) became United Methodist Churches
Wesleyan Reform Union (1859-today)
United Methodist Church (1907-1932) became Methodist Church of Great Britain
Methodist Church of Great Britain (1932-today)

Access Conditions:
Original available: how to access.

Related Material:
The main archive of the Wesley Historical Society is housed with Oxford Brookes University Library, Oxford. There is also a significant collection of Methodist material at John Rylands Library, Manchester.