Syllabus for ‘Mental Nursing’ Certificate STH/3/12

Dated early 20th cent.?

Extent: 1 item

Includes an inserted list of amendments. The syllabus consists of a basic outline of what the mental nursing certificate entailed, split into 3 sections:
• Study of mind and body
• Principles and practice of psychiatric nursing and first aid
• Concepts of mental illness, psychiatry and psychopathology
These areas are then split into a 3 year training scheme:
Year 1: Introduction to hospital, ward management, human needs, first aid, general nursing, introduction to psychiatry.
Year 2: Psychology, body – health and disease, psychiatry, psychiatric nursing and treatment, nursing procedure.
Year 3: Psychiatry, visits.


Access Conditions:
original available for consultation by appointment

Printed document