Score: Israeli Folk Tunes (For Strings) BMC/Tate/1/2/5

Dated nd

Extent: 2 items

This collection of Israeli folk tunes consists of 5 dances: Hora, Zadik Katamar, Hoi Harmonica, Erev Ba, Kuma Echa. This is a rough copy of the dances, which are written for Violin 1&2, Viola, Cello, Double Bass. As well as the score, there is a small collections of brief transcriptions of different Israeli folk tunes, some of which are re-written and included in the collection. Most of these seem to be written by a different hand so could have been the result of research she had done so to keep the work authentic. One of the clippings seems to have been cut out from a newletter (or similar) from the Society for Internation Folk Dancing, so this could have been one of the sources she used for research.

Musical notation

Phyllis Tate

Access Conditions:
Original available: how to access.