Score: Compassion BMC/Tate/1/1/31

Dated c.1980

Extent: 1 item

Compassion is a large work which was commissioned by the Arts Council of Great Britain to celebrate the 150th anniversary of the Royal Free Hospital. Using words from a poem by Ursula Vaughan Williams, the piece is written for a large orchestra, choir, and two vocal soloists. Instrumentation includes: Flute 1&2, Oboe 1&2, Clarinet 1&2, Bassoons 1&2, Horns 1&2, Trumpets 1&2, Timpani (x2), percussion, Soprano Solo, Contralto Solo, Sopranos, Altos, Tenors, Basses, Violin 1&2, Viola, Cello, Double Bass

Musical notation

Phyllis Tate

Access Conditions:
Original available: how to access.