Score: Christmas Ale BMC/Tate/1/1/10

Dated 1967

Extent: 4 items

Christmas Ale is a work for soloist, chorus and orchestra in 3 sections. This item includes parts 1, 2 & 3 in full handwritten scores as well as full vocal scores of all 3 sections with handwritten amendments. There is also some transparencies of the score in the collection. It is likely that this piece was written for jazz singer Cleo Lane (for whom Tate had written for before), as the solo line is named 'Cleo' in the scores. Instrumentation includes: soloist (Cleo Lane), chorus, flute, piccolo, oboe, clarinet in A, bassoon, horns 1+2, trumpet in C, timpani, percussion, harp, violin 1, violin 2, viola, cello and basses.

Musical notation

Phyllis Tate

Access Conditions:
Original available: how to access.

Oxford University Press