• BMC/SC/68687

    Witches And Spells Item


    piano 1
    choir 1
    View contents
  • BMC/SC/72267

    Scarecrow Item

    20th cent.

    flute 2
    trumpet 1
    trombone 1
    percussion 1
    electric guitar 1
    clarinet 1
    oboe 1
    french horn 2
    guitar 2
    double bass 1
    View contents
  • BMC/Tate

    Phyllis Tate Collection Subfonds

    A collection of scores and a small amount of personal papers created/acquired by the composer Phyllis Tate. This collection was donated to the British Music Information Centre by Phyllis Tate's family. The scores include manuscript and printed versions of both published and unpublished musical works. This collection also includes personal files containing poems and articles acquired by Tate as well as administrative documents from her publisher, Oxford University Press,
    View contents
  • BMC/Tate/1

    Musical Works Subfonds

    This area contains a collection of Phyllis Tate's musical works. It includes dated and undated works, with the dated works spanning from c.1955-1982. There are works for a huge range of different ensembles, as well as published and unpublished works. The scores in this catalogue have been ordered by date, where a date is given, and alphabetically by title where no date is evident.
    View contents
  • BMC/Tate/1/1

    Dated Works Series

    This series contains dated scores by Phyllis Tate c1955-1982, including printed scores and handwritten manuscripts of both published and unpublished works.
    View contents
  • BMC/Tate/1/1/1

    Score: String Quartet in F Item

    This file includes a set of uncorrected parts with extra parts for 2nd violin. Some of the parts have hand-written rehearsal marking and bow indications. Written for 1st Violin, 2nd Violin, Viola and Cello.
    View contents
  • BMC/Tate/1/1/2

    Score: Lady of Shalott, The Item

    This file includes 2 complete copies of Tate's setting of Tennyson's poem The Lady of Shalott. There are also 2 typed copies of the poem.It is subtitled as a Cantata in Four Movements, and is written for tenor, viola, percussion, 2 pianos and celesta.
    View contents
  • BMC/Tate/1/1/3

    Score: London Fields Item

    London Fields was comissioned by the BBC for the Light Music Festival of 1958. It is written for full orchestra (+harp) and is unpublished.
    View contents
  • BMC/Tate/1/1/4

    Score: Lodger, The Item

    The Lodger is an opera in Two Acts, based upon the novel of the same name by Mrs Belloe-Lowndes. Adaptation and litbretto by David Franklin and music by Phyllis Tate. This collection holds 2 copies of each act and a book of corrected libretto. The opera is scored for double woodwind (including piccolo, cor anglais, bass clarinet), 4230 brass, timpani, percussion, piano, celeste and strings.
    View contents
  • BMC/Tate/1/1/5

    Score: Phoenix and the Turtle, The Item

    Published in 1967, there is one rough score with amendments made and one clean copy. There is also some supporting papers including some background information about the work. It was written for choir, flute, piccolo, 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons, hotn, trombone, 4 cellos, harpsicord, piano and organ.
    View contents